How sad recalling the mess lots of people (teenagers) merry-go-round into every February 14 as an expression of or in pursuit of true Love. But for us on the “Teenagers are Special” team with the invitees, this past February 14 2014 was an iconoclastic moment of lingering experience.

With the wall water-marked with a large yellow backdrop; a visual art depiction of warmth, cheerfulness, joviality, brightness, radiance, imagination, spirituality, creativity, optimism and art. It was a first class gathering of teenagers from various backgrounds without discrimination across High schools and Universities.

Scintillating was the clever combination of cheerfulness; radiance and spirituality. And lingering was the unique treat, so uncommon of a FREE Dinner.

My personal experience before the event, was that of a hovering aircraft. Playing my responsibility being part of the logistics wasn’t quite easy. Going to Shoprite with the help of my good friend Lartey Benjamin was uhm! Having to be at the event place at Maryland twice that day was a whao, since everything was set I had no guts to be lazy. In the end, glad I was a part of it.

Conveying Youths from the University of Lagos to the event Venue FREE of Charge made me reminisce on the unethical attitude of the Nigerian youth to time keeping, as we had to wait for some invitees who were to board the Bus. Arriving at the event which had begun, the paparazzi gave me the first treat by giving me a welcoming shot with the baggage I was carrying. In no time at all the Kariola who was looking like a workman soon changed to what a friend termed ‘cool’, strange that I had other outfits to change to.

The tables were Westernly equipped with… A moral movie would soon start… Then the talk… Need I say sermon; a moral talk of course! ‎​Ooº°˚ ˚°ºoo item…wasn’t left out; you get to eat what you want and tell how you want it… It is called (Buffet) later, it was time for ‘paparaskill’… It was all worth it.

Being part of this team is really a plus for me: you get to meet people; belong to a loving family of Teenagers, you get to see talents; learn to be relevant in the society, you get to use what you’ve got upstairs; you get to learn humility; you get to make decisions; you get to learn lots and you get to know JESUS. He his the bedrock!

I’m sure you wouldn’t want to be told that Lagos is in Nigeria; Abuja is in the north or that Igbo is a tribe. Why? Because they are what you should know.

Be part of this paradigm shift; sharing the Love of Christ unchecked.

Like our facebook page at
‘Teenagers are Special’
Tweeter: @teensareSpecial
E-mail: teenagersarespecial@gmail.com
Google +: Teenagers are Special Pin: 2A92AFE2

Written by: Kariola mustapha

2 thoughts on “February 14/14: An Hovering Experience.

  1. I love it when attention is focussed on the core needs of human society. We live in an era where our young people, much more our teens, need a lot of re-orientation. Kudos to you, bro. I love your style of writing. Seems to me I should begin borrowing vocabularies from you

    1. PJ, thanks for your interest in youth re-orientation. I believe this “writing for change” group, we’ll change the society.

Leave a comment